» close window

The Parliamentarians for Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament


invite you to a

Roundtable briefing and discussion on

Parliamentarians, Mayors and Nuclear Non-Proliferation

Wednesday April 28
United Nations
New York, USA
Conference Room 10
10:00 - 13:00

Organized for parliamentarians and mayors attending the

2004 NPT Preparatory Committee Meeting


Mayor Akiba , President of Mayors for Peace

Senator Douglas Roche (Canada)

Senator Patrik Vankrunkelsven (Belgium)

Aaron Tovish , Mayors for Peace


Contact: Parliamentarians for Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament

PO Box 23257, Cable Car Lane, Wellington, New Zealand

Phone (64) 4 385-8192. Fax (64) 4 385-8193

Email: alyn@pnnd.org

Web: archive.pnnd.org

Session 1: 10:00 - 11:20: Parliamentarians and the NPT



Sudjadnan Parnohadiningrat (invited)
Secretary General, Department of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Indonesia. Chair of the 2004 NPT:
NPT process and importance of parliamentary support.

Hon Marian Hobbs (invited)
Minister of Disarmament and Arms Control (New Zealand).
New Agenda Coalition proposals to the NPT.

Senator Patrik Vankrunkelsven (Belgium)
Co-chair Belgian Parliamentary Working Group for Nuclear Disarmament and Non-proliferation
Parliamentary actions to support nuclear non-proliferation and disarmament.

General discussion

Session 2: 11:40 - 13:00: Parliamentarians and Mayors:



Tadatoshi Akiba
Mayor of Hiroshima. President of Mayors for Peace
Mayors for Peace Emergency Campaign to Ban Nuclear Weapons

Senator Douglas Roche (Canada)
Chair of Middle Powers Initiative
Parliamentarians for Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament

Aaron Tovish
Campaign Manager, Mayors for Peace
Collaboration between mayors and parliamentarians

General discussion


» close window